How to survive the ‘summer’ months

Ireland has three seasons; winter, winter lite and autumn. Right now, in mid-June, I’m pretty certain it’s the end of autumn nearing winter. With fresh drops of rain converging into puddles on the roadside and the early morning sound of hailstones tap-tap-tapping off the window I feel as though the weather patterns here are more confusing than Lady Gaga’s fashion choices. Half the time I shudder to look out the window incase I see a lost gondolier looking back.

Fortunately such inclement weather is common during what is supposed to be Ireland’s summer (ie a day or two in July)  so being cooped up indoors isn’t a world away from what I’m used to during the summer (read: winter lite) months, be it at a gig or Jervis Shopping Centre. But what if, similarly to me, you’re a poor student who can’t afford to go out everyday and so find trudging through the rain on a daily basis a bit pointless and unnecessary? Luckily, entertainment is never far away and can be cheap.

Teh internetz
I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve watched videos of cats playing keyboards and being ninjas on YouTube. But hey, if you’ve got hours to kill there’s worse you could be doing. Apparently the internet’s educational, but all it’s done so far has made me unimpressed by the decidedly dull cats that wander through the estate I live in. YEAH FELIX, I’M TALKING ‘BOUT YOU.

Books
Ah books, I think the majesty of books may have been forgotten in the haze of kindles and online editions but I personally think you can’t beat leafing through the pages of books, inspecting the scribblings left by previous owners and the feeling of success or sadness when you close the book after reading the final page. So go on, read a book, libraries are there to be used.

Listen to Music
It’s said that Ian Curtis of Joy Division only liked listening to music when he could sit down and properly listen to the songs with no distractions – no newspaper, no books, just appreciating the music for what it is. Most people get their music fix listening to their iPod on the commute to work or college, hearing the music through headphones which don’t really do justice to most albums. Put your iPod in its docking station, or CD in its stereo, and listen out for for every chord and key change, the nuances in the vocalist’s voice. You’ll never hear the album in the same way again.

Get Arty!
Most people stop painting and sketching when they finish school, but there’s something to be said for the sense of acheivement that comes from completing a sketch or painting that turns out exactly how you want it to. I firmly believe that everyone has some artistic talent, it just takes practice. And no matter how your artwork turns out bear in mind worse has probably been displayed in gallery exhibitions (Richard Tuttle’s ‘Triumphs’ springs to mind), so don’t lose heart.

If any of the aforementioned suggestions don’t work then you can always begin building a boat, or perhaps a plane. I’m going to get a headstart on building an igloo, winter’s coming soon!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia (AKA Jules)
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 09:39:18

    great post! I should have a summer job running an ice cream place but because of the crap weather I haven’t been working much, if not at all in the afternoons (I have a job in the morning which is permanent, i.e. i work all seasons) so, despite the crap weather, I’ve been making my own music (and listening to and getting into 80s music…..)

    and yes, I’m not going to get a kindle (although my iPod decided to install iBooks the other day… hmmmm…)

    Thanks for the comment on my blog!

    Reply

    • runningawayquickly
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 14:49:16

      I’m really hoping the weather will pick up some time in July, that sucks about the ice cream place 😦 Kindles just don’t appeal to me, I looooove books! No problem, and thanks for the comment!

      Reply

  2. Ali
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 10:15:31

    Brilliant post! Love how you name the seasons, haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

