Giving Up Facebook


I’d be lying if I said that I haven’t been tempted to delete my Facebook account. In fact, it’s something that I’m strongly considering. Such a move would be hot on the heels of the deletion of my (previously dormant) MySpace and Bebo accounts, I feel like I’m on a roll and if I stop now I’ll be forever in debt to endless ‘social’ network sites that I get bored with very, very quickly.

Facebook’s good for keeping in touch with people who you don’t get to see as often as you’d like to, school friends who you haven’t seen in ages and just general banter with the friends you see every other day. But after the 100th Farmville invite and event invitation it gets a bit weary.

And I just can’t keep up with the bizarre social competitiveness that some people seem to thrive on, changing their profile pictures every day and endless updates of how “last night was a messy one.” (What are the odds they were sitting at home in their pyjamas watching Jersey Shore, eh?)

Or maybe it’s the opposite, maybe I’m bizarre because when I go on nights out I’m not arsed about getting my picture taken with everyone in the room. If someone is snapping pictures of you every two seconds then chances are that you’re not actually having that great a night. And when I’m hungover the last thing I want to do is look at a computer screen and announce the fact that I feel like my insides are dying – I prefer to get a takeaway and weep about my self-induced illness.

I don’t like drawing attention to myself, I have a very boring life and no pearls of wisdom to share, nor do I care if you’ve just found tin foil that’s cheaper in Spar than in Londis (yes, that was a real status update) or if you’ve just contracted herpes (not real, but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time).

What originally began as a fun way of interacting with friends has turned into a surreal world where you find out much more about people than you ever wanted to and if you’re not eating dinner on a yacht with Barack Obama off the coast of the Bahamas then you’re the weird one.

But every time that little white arrow is hovering over the “cancel account” button I hesitate. What if I end up losing touch with some people and then never having any way to be in contact with them ever again? What if something funny happens on Facebook that all my friends will have seen and then I’ll be the odd one out? So I retreat. I click back to the homepage and reenter the world of endless holiday snaps and pointless status updates.

Cancelling my account is something that plays on my mind every time I log in. I start to weigh up the pros and cons in my head with neither column being particularly convincing. Sometimes I just give up and go to Spar, because cheap tin foil won’t sell itself.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia (AKA Jules)
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 09:28:04

    I left Facebook a year ago and it was the best decision that I ever made. Sure, people from school have stopped contacting me, but I was addicted to it. I needed a break. Now I’m slowly getting back to the old me. We have become too reliant on social networking these days!
    Great post!

    Reply

    • runningawayquickly
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 14:56:59

      Hmm, see I don’t think I’m addicted to it (which is funny considering I just wrote a whole blog post about it!), I don’t actually log in that often. I just feel like it’s a waste but then my mind starts whirring again. I need to stop being so indecisive! Thanks for the comment! x

      Reply

  2. Kate
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 04:07:59

    I got rid of mine about a year ago as well. At first I had a lot of the same reservations about it as you did. But honestly if someone genuinely wants to get in contact with you, they’ll find a way regardless if you have a Facebook or not. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

    Reply

  3. Blue
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 14:59:08

    I’ve been contemplating getting rid of it… But I havent. It is the only way I stay in touch with quite a bunch of people, so I dont want to lose that. I did defriend the annoying oversharers and everyone I would not call for a coffee date if I happened to be where they lived, so things have become more managable. And I am definitely not as addicted to it as I used to be.

    Reply

    • runningawayquickly
      Aug 06, 2011 @ 17:27:18

      I do clear up my account fairly often, because I don’t want to have a gazillion ‘friends’ or people I haven’t talked to in years, and probably never will again. Damn social networking, why does it make everything harder than it has to be?! Haha. Thanks for the comment! x

      Reply

  4. It's Strangely Me
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 10:10:02

    I definitely know how you feel. I desperately want to get rid of Facebook but I can’t. And now that I have my blog, I NEED the exposure and ability to mass post etc. I don’t think you should get rid of it, maybe you should try to limit the amount of time you spend on FB?

    I don’t ever read the news feed on FB, I just don’t care about what people are doing. As for FB on mobile? I have the app on my blackberry but I am NEVER logged in. If it’s important, they’ll text or call.

    Good luck!

    B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

