The Listening Post: OrphanCode

You should never underestimate the seriousness of a chess match, and one band who understand the importance of one are Dubliners OrphanCode. And as well as this essential requirement for being in an indie band they’ve also mastered the art of writing songs that have real staying power (I’ve been a fan since 2008, and the melody for ‘Last Dance’ still pops into my head on a regular basis) and are definitely one of the most talented and underappreciated bands in Ireland at the moment.

Since their earlier incarnation of Nero this band have been getting consistently better, and I genuinely have yet to hear a song by them that I don’t like. They’ve been one of my favourite Irish bands for the past few years and definitely stand out from the endless number of other bands trying to make it. OrphanCode have the distinct feel of a band teetering on the brink of wide recognition, and when you listen to any of their songs you’ll understand why.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia (AKA Jules)
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 09:29:47

    oooh they sound good but the youtube clip doesn’t work for me! 😦
    x

    Reply

  2. runningawayquickly
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 17:31:53

    Really? 😦 I just edited it and put the video in again, but if it still isn’t working the youtube linky link is here for my favourite song of theirs, No Armour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brK3m3L9e1k&feature=related I hope you like what you hear! x

    Reply

Leave a comment